Be a Better Guitar Player! (Links_2016)

guitarshop

There are a whole lot of neato things online these days. Have you noticed? No? Well here’s a few things that you may find interesting, especially if you’re a guitar player. I do try to keep these posts updated and maintained. Currently I don’t think there are any busted YouTube links anywhere on my blog, but that is a challenge and not something I can worry about every week. Sometimes things disappear. Such is life and the internet.

I thought this lesson was way cool when I found it and now I do it regularly — play guitar scales like Bach. This is an exercise you can get under your fingers quickly and it forces you to break familiar patterns. Not only do you develop new ways to see and navigate the fretboard, you also expand your ear potential. Plus, these scales sound more musical right from the get-go as instructor James Scott points out during the lesson. This looks like a good channel with a lot of cool guitar instruction!

For you anyone who aspires to play Gypsy Jazz or Jazz or Shred guitar, or well, anything, The Boss finally has a series of instruction videos. Yes, Bireli Lagrene, King of All Things Amazing has been captured in all of his multi-instrumental awesomeness and he will impart his techniques and secrets to you! Thanks to DC Music School there are now 4 volumes of Bireli instruction available; everything from Gypsy Jazz guitar to Bebop/Modern Jazz guitar with some bass and violin thrown in for fun and education. Seeing as how all of the previews look downright splendiferous I can’t imagine how cool the entire lessons are! While I was away DC Music School released In the Style of video lessons with guitarists Tcha Limberger, Frank Vignola, Adrien Moignard and Sebastien Giniaux. Quite an impressive catalog! By the way…anyone who doesn’t think Bireli is about the best guitarist in the world need only view this live concert. Great band and I lost track of how many jaw-dropping moments there are in the set.

Christiaan van Hemert is the latest and greatest guy bringing Gypsy Jazz guitar education to the masses. He has been the driving force behind The Rosenberg Academy and is now doing a lot of his own videos on YouTube. He has developed into quite a good guitar player. Some of the ideas, tips and exercises he gives out in this Q & A series are very helpful. Recently he just started a new series called Gypsy Jazz Replay that looks to be a lot of fun. The couple episodes I saw selected a song with a guest soloist and then they all sat around and talked about the thinking behind what they played. Great advice for improvisers!

I’ve mentioned this guy before and I check in regularly with what he is doing — Morten Faerestrand! Really amazing player and always good for a neat idea or tip/technique. You can view these videos as stand-alones or as teasers for a larger comprehensive teaching program or group of lessons you can take advantage of here. I love working these new pattern exercises because, like the Bach scales above, playing these patterns regularly takes you into a completely different zone and it’s especially good for either adding depth to what you already have or breaking out of the dreaded INRsImprovising Navigational Ruts.

One thing that I did over the last few months is get real organized because there were a bunch of specific things I wanted to work on in “the woodshed” as they say. I would get to the end of a practice session and realize I had not worked on ideas that were on the mental list, so I made a hard-copy list and posted it where I could see it during my practice time and even when I was sitting around and oddly enough, I found the internalization process went much faster. As we all know, it can take awhile to work in a new move to an improvised situation, but I was happy with how quickly some of this stuff showed up in my playing. I also tried to target specific tunes I knew I would be doing with specific concepts. So in that way, while the licks/patterns/ideas might not have been completely coming out of that improvised zone, I was able to play them naturally in a jam without that “I’m forcing this in here” feeling that sometimes happens. All in all I think the writing and the targeting drastically improved the woodshed to play-time and I have kept adding to the list. What I do now is work a “new stuff” part of the practice and a “maintenance” part where I go over the things I already feel I have down but don’t want to forget. It works out pretty well and makes for a fun practice because I can play slow on things I need to focus on because they are new and I can alternate that with things I can already rip on pretty well. So the practice is organized and doesn’t get boring is what I’m trying to say. Good Times!

flower2

During the long weeks that I was laid up and couldn’t even play guitar I watched many of these videos from YouTube user Reg523. I believe he is a jazz player from the west coast who puts up stuff to flesh out concepts he talks about on the forum at jazzguitar.be. So he isn’t really doing a lesson and he isn’t doing a performance either. It’s like he’s playing and trying to say what he’s thinking as he does it and he is a great player! I watched several of his videos on standards I play regularly and got some new ideas. I also loved this version of the Beatles Can’t Buy Me Love…so I learned it pretty much as is and do my own soloing. Great stuff! Also…if you become a member of jazzguitar.be you will receive a whole lot of lessons via email, some free, some as part of a paid package with free teaser stuff.

Alex Ipsa-Cowan is another jazz instructor on YouTube who has some really interesting ideas for guitar advancement! He plays a lot of straight ahead standard-jazz and breaks down many topics like playing over rhythm changes, playing outside, the bebop scale, arpeggios and many other guitar-type topics! I think, like a lot of players/instructors now he is available for Skype lessons if you so desire and he also has some performance videos with his band who are pretty crackin’ so definitely give a look and listen.

Though I don’t play it anymore, I was real impressed watching videos of Doug Steele, specifically his Van Halen instruction videos. This guy can shred like a BOSS, explores a whole ton of different players and playing concepts and has a really good teaching style/sense of humor! Makes for very cool, entertaining videos. He also has a page devoted to Gypsy Jazz and Django Reinhardt on his website. Cool! After a day and a half of watching Doug’s channel I wanted to go out and get all of my old gear back and crank it UP!!! But some things you gotta leave in the past and/or with other people. Definitely a good thing for anyone out there who wants to crush!

Finally, the old school, brought to you by a guy who has over time become one of my favorite players, Barney Kessel. I have an album review of his over in the right column and since then have acquired some of his other albums. Really great stuff. I will have a separate post on Barney soon, but back in the day he had a series of guitar instruction videos that are now on YouTube. While the quality of the videos is here and there, the information contained within is fascinating and invaluable. One of the best jazz and chord harmony players ever laying down the heavy-duty rap on how to do it. Definitely recommend. There is another here.

bar2

As I’ve done before, this post will get made into a sticky for the year so it will stay at the top of the page. If I find anything to and add to it I will. Also, the new links for lessons will get added to the right column. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

